Drainage

Drainage, in accordance with the Ontario Drainage Act is to oversee the maintenance and construction of all municipal drains throughout the municipality.

A municipal drain is simply a drainage system that channels water off of agricultural land or removes excess water that collects on properties. Most municipal drains are either open ditches or closed tile systems in the ground. Structures that are considered part of municipal drains are grassed waterways, storm water retention ponds, culverts and bridges. Certain creeks and small rivers are also considered to be municipal drains. Municipal drains are created under the authority of the Drainage Act.


Construct a new drain

Landowners requesting a New Drain may fill out and submit Petition for Drainage Works by Owner (Drainage Act 1990 Section 4) to the Township of Blandford-Blenheim. This will set in motion a project to create a new municipal drain.

All additional steps can be found under Section 4 of the Drainage Act.

Report a problem

If you suspect a problem with a drain, contact Jim Harmer, Drainage Superintendent.

Landowners requesting maintenance on an existing drain may fill out and submit the Request for Municipal Drain Maintenance (Municipal Drain Work Order) to the Township of Blandford-Blenheim

Request improvements

Landowners requesting improvements or modification on an existing drain may fill out and submit the Request for Drainage Works (Drainage Act 1990 Section 78) to the Township of Blandford-Blenheim.

All additional steps can be found under Section 78 of the Drainage Act.

How Municipal drains are maintained

Maintenance on municipal drains is the most common procedure that occurs. This work includes clearing of the drain, such as removal of beavers/dams, trees, repairing/replacing tile, silting and cleaning out tiles.

All parties affected by a Municipal Drain are encouraged to periodically inspect the drain and report any visible or suspected problems to the Township of Blandford-Blenheim. Repeated inspection and maintenance of a drain should allow the drain to provide a service for many years.

Municipal Drains are maintained by the Township of Blandford-Blenheim at the expense of all the lands and roads as specified in the Schedule of Assessment for Maintenance from the corresponding Drain Report.

Each owner must provide an access route to the drain for access by the Township to undertake necessary repair or maintenance. As well, a right-of way along the drain route equal to the working area described in the report is also to be available for future maintenance.

Township Staff
Chief Building Official
John Scherer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 230
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jscherer@ezt.ca
Deputy Chief Building Official
Robert Kelly
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 228
Fax: 519-463-5881
Building Inspector / Property Standards Enforcement Officer
Kate Jancsar
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 229
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: kjancsar@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Planner
Rebecca Smith
Phone: 519-539-9800 ex 3211
Email: rsmith@oxfordcounty.ca
 
Drainage Superintendent
Jim Harmer
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 233
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jharmer@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
CAO/Clerk
Rodger Mordue
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 227
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: rmordue@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Deputy Clerk
Sarah Matheson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 222
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: smatheson@blandfordblenheim.ca
 

 
Director of Finance/Treasurer
Denise Krug
Treasury, Budgeting, Financial Reporting & Planning
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 224
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: dkrug@blandfordblenheim.ca
Deputy Treasurer/Revenue Co-ordinator
Katie Koski
Accounts Receivable, Payroll, Property Tax Administrator
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 225
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: kkoski@blandfordblenheim.ca
Finance/ Customer Service Clerk
Pamela Kent
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 221
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email:pkent@blandfordblenheim.ca
 

 
Director of Protective Services
Fire Chief
Rick Richardson
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 223
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: rrichardson@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Protective Services Administrator
Michelle VanWyk
Protective Services Administration / CEMC
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 232
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: mvanwyk@blandfordblenheim.ca
Director of Public Works
Jim Borton
Phone: 519-463-5347 ex 226
Fax: 519-463-5881
Email: jborton@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Road Supervisor
Ryan Nechelput
Drumbo Shop: 519-463-5389
email: roads@blandfordblenheim.ca
Manager of Community Services
Ken Wood
Administration, Management, Project Planning
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886
Email: kwood@blandfordblenheim.ca
 
Facility Operations Lead Hand
Trevor Baer
Arena Contact, Maintenance Lead
Phone: 519-684-7482
Fax: 519-684-6886
facility@blandfordblenheim.ca